Move updates installation either at shutdown or during the login sequence

Registered by David Barth on 2009-05-29

This blueprint discusses the opportunity to move the installation of software updates outside of the normal desktop user session, either:
 * at shutdown, when the user closes his session or shutdowns his computer
 * as part of the first things a user sees when he opens his session

Blueprint information

Status:
Not started
Approver:
None
Priority:
Undefined
Drafter:
Matthew Paul Thomas
Direction:
Needs approval
Assignee:
None
Definition:
Discussion
Series goal:
Proposed for karmic
Implementation:
Unknown
Milestone target:
None

Related branches

Sprints

Whiteboard

We have discussed showing update information and allowing updates to be completed at the face browser/GDM, not within the session. -- David
This might be a tricky issue as where is has already been implemented (Vista anyone?) it categorically does not work and actively disrupts users. When users shutdown they are making a choice to leave a task and usually want to get on to doing something else ASAP; disrupting them at this point with a long, time intensive task is neither helpful or a good idea from a user experience standpoint. Users want to be able to run updates in the background and their convenience as that approach means they have the choice, not their computer. This issue already came up in the update manager notifications discussions and needs to be consulted with users, not just developers, as it affects a comparison point for easy of use and initial experiences. -- Tom Wright

(?)

Work Items

This blueprint contains Public information 
Everyone can see this information.