Shutdown with multiple users logged in

Registered by Kamil Páral on 2007-10-26

Currently when restarting or shutting down pc, Ubuntu doesn't check whether there are other logged in users. It simply closes all sesions. Therefore, all unsaved work of the other users is inevitably lost.

Instead, it should check for other users currently logged in, and display an confirmation message in that case. That is important, the users could have used the "fast switch" feature, but their work can be unsaved. Microsoft operating systems have this feature and users anticipate the same in Ubuntu.

All the functionality is nearly done, the "fast switch user applet" monitors currently logged in users, so there is no problem to get that list. Only the confirmation dialog is missing.

You can also see bug #82530.

Blueprint information

Status:
Not started
Approver:
None
Priority:
Undefined
Drafter:
None
Direction:
Needs approval
Assignee:
None
Definition:
New
Series goal:
None
Implementation:
Unknown
Milestone target:
None

Whiteboard

(?)

Work Items

This blueprint contains Public information 
Everyone can see this information.