Ubuntu installer should give more info about what it is going to delete

Registered by Jim Qode on 2007-11-15

The Ubuntu installer does not give enough information to what exactly what it is going to do, as "Partitioning" to most people has no meaning. ex. "Use Entire Disk" could confuse the user into thinking that it will use the CD-R, DVD-RW, USB Disk, etc. It is important to let the user know if "Guided - Use entire disk" options is selected other operating systems and files they might have on that drive will be deleted.

There are repeated threads on the forums and elsewhere about new users deleting their XP partitions by mistake.

See for example:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=606698
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+question/17346

Blueprint information

Status:
Complete
Approver:
None
Priority:
Undefined
Drafter:
None
Direction:
Needs approval
Assignee:
None
Definition:
Obsolete
Series goal:
Proposed for hardy
Implementation:
Not started
Milestone target:
None
Completed by
Kate Stewart on 2012-10-01

Related branches

Whiteboard

(?)

Work Items

This blueprint contains Public information 
Everyone can see this information.